It was meant to be a short walk to buy ice cream — the kind of errand you don’t think twice about until it goes wrong. On February 1, 2020, a ute mounted the kerb in Oatlands, in Sydney’s west, killing four children in a group of seven walking to the shop; three more were injured. Driver Samuel William Davidson was drunk and affected by drugs, and the sentencing and appeals that followed made it one of Australia’s most closely watched drunk-driving cases. Here is what happened, who the victims were, and where the case stands now.

Sentence: 28 years maximum ·
Non-parole period: 21 years ·
Victims killed: 4 children ·
Crash year: 2020 ·
Appeal filed: October 2021 ·
Driver status: Convicted drunk driver

Quick snapshot

1Confirmed facts
2What’s unclear
  • A specific blood alcohol reading was never published in the coverage reviewed here
  • Davidson’s exact age and personal background remain sparsely documented
  • The revised non-parole date after the 2022 appeal is not detailed in the sources used
3Timeline signal
  • February 1, 2020 — the crash at Oatlands (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster)) (ABC News (national broadcaster))
  • April 9, 2021 — original sentence of 28 years, with 21 years non-parole (ABC News (national broadcaster))
  • 2022 — the Court of Criminal Appeal reduced the sentence to 20 years (ABC News (national broadcaster)) (ABC News (national broadcaster))
  • March 17, 2023 — the High Court refused a further appeal (ABC News (national broadcaster)) (ABC News (national broadcaster))
4What’s next
  • Davidson’s appeal route is exhausted; the 20-year sentence stands (ABC News (national broadcaster))
  • He remains in custody serving the custodial term
  • The case continues to shape NSW debate on drunk-driving penalties

Nine rows, one pattern: an ordinary errand, four deaths, and a sentence that moved through three separate courts before it settled.

Field Detail
Full name Samuel William Davidson
Crash date February 1, 2020 (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))
Location Oatlands, New South Wales, Australia
Victims Veronique Sakr, Sienna Abdallah, Angelina Abdallah and Antony Abdallah (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))
Children in group 7 — 4 killed, 3 injured (ABC News (national broadcaster))
Vehicle ute that mounted the kerb; about 111 km/h at a bend (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper))
Guilty pleas four counts of manslaughter, plus driving offences over the injuries (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper))
Original sentence 28 years maximum, 21 years non-parole — Parramatta District Court, April 9, 2021 (ABC News (national broadcaster))
Appeal outcome reduced to 20 years in 2022; High Court refused further appeal in 2023 (ABC News (national broadcaster))
Editor’s note

This reconstruction is based on public court reporting from ABC News, SBS News and The Sydney Morning Herald. Where the public record has gaps — Davidson’s exact age, his blood alcohol reading, the revised parole date — we say so rather than guessing.

What happened to the parents who lost three children in a car accident?

Danny and Leila Abdallah sent three children out that afternoon — Antony, Angelina and Sienna — and never saw them come home. The three siblings were part of a group of seven children walking to buy ice cream when Samuel Davidson’s ute mounted the kerb and struck them in Oatlands, in Sydney’s west, on February 1, 2020. The fourth child killed, Veronique Sakr, was a relative of the Abdallah family.

The Oatlands crash and its victims

  • What happened: a ute mounted the kerb and hit children walking to get ice cream (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))
  • Speed: approximately 111 km/h as the vehicle lost control at a bend, per court reporting (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper))
  • Injuries: three children survived, one with permanent brain damage (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))

Davidson had been drinking and using drugs before the drive, according to court reporting (ABC News (national broadcaster)). His guilty pleas to four counts of manslaughter and linked driving offences were part of the record that brought the case to Parramatta District Court (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper)).

The Abdallah family’s loss

  • Three of the four children killed were siblings: Antony, Angelina and Sienna Abdallah (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))
  • The fourth child, Veronique Sakr, was a relative of the family (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))

For Danny and Leila Abdallah, the crash removed three of their children in one stroke. Veronique’s death meant the extended family mourned across two households at once — a concentration of grief that made the case stand out even in a city used to road tragedies.

Bottom line: The pattern: this was not a complex accident. A driver at roughly 111 km/h lost control on a bend, and the difference between a near-miss and four funerals was the kerb.

How old were Danny Abdallah’s children?

The ages of the three siblings were a major part of the public grief: 13, 12 and 9.

Antony Abdallah (13)

  • Antony was 13 years old when he was killed (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))

Antony was the eldest of the three siblings who died.

Angelina Abdallah (12)

  • Angelina was 12 years old when she was killed (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))

Angelina, the middle sibling, was two years younger than Antony.

Sienna Abdallah (9)

  • Sienna was 9 years old when she was killed (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))

Sienna, the youngest of the three, was still in primary school. The math is what cut through: 13, 12 and 9 — three siblings in a group of seven children, on a walk that should have taken ten minutes.

Why this matters: ages give the case its moral weight. A crash that kills four children is devastating at any age; three siblings aged 13, 12 and 9 made the Abdallah family’s loss specific, countable and impossible to look away from.

What religion are Danny and Leila Abdallah?

Danny and Leila Abdallah are Catholic (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster)), and their faith was woven through the public response to the crash.

Faith in the aftermath of tragedy

  • Religion: Catholic (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))
  • Public framing: the family spoke about their faith as central to coping with the loss (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))

In coverage of the crash and the sentencing, the family’s religious commitment was presented as the framework they returned to in the worst moments. It gave their public statements a consistency — grief, but also a refusal to be consumed by it — that reporters and the community alike kept coming back to.

Community support

  • Support: the community rallied around the family with vigils and tributes in the days and months after the crash (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))

The community response was itself part of the news cycle: a grieving part of Western Sydney turned its shock into visible support for the family and for the children who survived the crash.

The implication: faith gave the family a way to appear in public without falling apart — and that public resilience is one reason the case stayed in the headlines long after sentencing.

How many children did Abdullah have?

The question uses a common misspelling — the family’s surname is Abdallah, not Abdullah. Danny and Leila Abdallah have eight children in total (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster)).

The Abdallah family size

  • Total children: eight (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))
  • Children killed in the crash: three (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))
  • Surviving children: five (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster))

That means the household continued after the crash with five children who lost three siblings in a single afternoon — and with parents who now carry both grief and the daily work of raising the five who came home.

What this means: the family’s size made the loss countable. Eight children, three killed, five left to grow up in the shadow of that day — the numbers gave the tragedy a shape the public could hold onto.

How old is Danny Abdallah?

Danny Abdallah was in his 30s at the time of the crash (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper)), making him a relatively young father to have lost three children in one event.

Danny Abdallah’s age and background

  • Age at the time of the crash: reported as his 30s (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper))
  • Role in the case: father of three of the four children killed (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper))

Before the crash, Danny Abdallah was not a public figure. The sentencing, the appeal, and the family’s campaigning changed that: he became the face of the victims’ families in court coverage and in public discussions of road safety.

A father turned advocate

  • Public role: road-safety advocacy after the crash (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper))

His age matters in a practical sense too. At 30-something, he faces decades of raising the five surviving children while carrying the absence of the three who died. The public advocate and the private father are the same person, and the coverage often blurred the two.

The trade-off: advocacy gave the family leverage with lawmakers, but it also put a grieving father on camera and on the record at the worst moment of his life.

Timeline of the Oatlands crash case

Five moments trace the case from crash to final appeal.

  • — A group of children walking to buy ice cream in Oatlands is struck when a ute mounts the kerb; four children die (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster)).
  • — Samuel Davidson is sentenced in Parramatta District Court to a maximum 28 years, with a non-parole period of 21 years (ABC News (national broadcaster)).
  • — Davidson lodges an appeal against the sentence (ABC News (national broadcaster)).
  • — The NSW Court of Criminal Appeal reduces the sentence to 20 years (ABC News (national broadcaster)).
  • — The High Court of Australia refuses a further appeal, leaving the reduced sentence in place (ABC News (national broadcaster)).

The appellate stages are covered separately in our explainers on the Oatlands crash sentencing appeal and the Samuel Davidson High Court appeal.

Bottom line: Samuel Davidson now serves a 20-year sentence after the Court of Criminal Appeal reduced the original 28-year term and the High Court declined to reopen the case. The figure that governs his custodial term is 20, not 28.
The catch

The gap between 28 and 20 is the story. NSW appeals require courts to weigh totality and proportionality — which means a court can look at four dead children and still decide the original total was too harsh.

The upshot: for the families, no judgment changes the fact that four children did not come home. For the rest of the system, the case remains a reference point for how multiple manslaughter counts are aggregated into one sentence.

Confirmed facts and open questions

The public record is strong on the crime and the sentence, thinner on the man.

Confirmed facts

  • Davidson was drunk and affected by drugs when he drove into the group (ABC News (national broadcaster))
  • He pleaded guilty to four counts of manslaughter and driving offences over the injuries (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper))
  • The original sentence of 28 years with a 21-year non-parole period was later cut to 20 years on appeal (ABC News (national broadcaster))

What’s unclear

  • Davidson’s exact blood alcohol reading was never published in the coverage reviewed here
  • His precise age and personal background are not established in the research base
  • The revised non-parole period after the 2022 reduction is not reported in the sources cited
  • The length of the drive before the crash was reported as approximately 5.3 kilometres — an approximation from court reporting, not an independent measurement (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper))

The pattern: the victims are named and remembered; the driver remains a silhouette in the public record. That asymmetry is common in drunk-driving coverage, and it’s worth keeping in mind when reading any single account of the case.

Voices in the aftermath

“It ripped my heart out and ran it over.”

— families of the victims, as reported by The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper)

“Life will never be the same for anybody involved.”

— Samuel Davidson’s father, in a video response after the crash, as covered by SBS News (Australian public broadcaster)

Why this matters: both sides of the case — the accused’s family and the victims’ families — reached for the same language: a permanent before-and-after. That agreement makes the tragedy legible to anyone reading about it for the first time.

For the Abdallah and Sakr families, the end of the appeals is not closure. It is the permanent absence of three siblings and a cousin, and the daily job of raising the five children who came home that day to a different life. For NSW road-safety advocates, the implication is clear: keep pressing on prevention and enforcement, or another summer walk ends the same way.

Related reading

The appellate journey in this case shows how sentencing can shift even in clear-cut tragedies.

For further detail, see our coverage of the Oatlands crash sentencing appeal and the Samuel Davidson High Court appeal.

Frequently asked questions

What is Samuel Davidson’s current status?

He is serving a custodial sentence. The NSW Court of Criminal Appeal reduced his original 28-year maximum to 20 years in 2022, and the High Court refused a further appeal in March 2023, so the reduced sentence stands (ABC News (national broadcaster)).

Is Samuel Davidson still in prison?

Yes. Nothing in the reporting reviewed indicates he has been released; the High Court’s refusal to hear a further appeal leaves the prison sentence in force (ABC News (national broadcaster)).

When will Samuel Davidson be eligible for parole?

Under the original sentence, the 21-year non-parole period would have made him eligible around January 2041 (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper)). The later reduction to 20 years would have adjusted that date, but the revised date was not reported in the sources used here.

What was Samuel Davidson’s blood alcohol level?

Public reporting described him as drunk and affected by drugs at the time of the crash, but his exact blood alcohol reading was not published in the coverage reviewed (ABC News (national broadcaster)).

Did Samuel Davidson know the victims?

No reporting reviewed here indicates Davidson knew the children. The group was walking to buy ice cream when the ute struck them (SBS News (Australian public broadcaster)).

How did the community react to the sentencing?

The families called for justice, and the crash drew widespread public sympathy and support, with vigils and tributes for the children (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper)).

What charges did Samuel Davidson face?

He pleaded guilty to four counts of manslaughter, as well as offences over injuries to the surviving children, including grievous bodily harm by misconduct in charge of a motor vehicle (The Sydney Morning Herald (major Australian newspaper)).

The takeaway: Samuel Davidson’s sentence stands at 20 years; for the victims’ families, the case leaves a permanent absence that no appeal could address. The gaps in the public record are where the case turns from a legal story into a human one.